Amplify STEM Forum on Equity and Inclusion

A free, two-day professional learning event for K–12 educators and leaders

Amplify has partnered with experts from Desmos, our partner authors, as well as educators from across the country to discuss the importance of equitable access to high-quality math and science instruction and materials.

 

Agenda and registration

Educators who attend live sessions will have an opportunity to request a certificate of attendance 24 hours after the completion of the Forum. If you can’t attend live, you will still be able to access recordings of the webinars by registering.


For full descriptions of the sessions listed below, please click here.



Monday, September 21

The two-day forum will kick-off on Monday, September 21, as we focus on equity and inclusion in the math classroom.


Recognizing Student Brilliance: Using Student Thinking and Identity as the Center of a Classroom Experience

Time: 4–5 p.m. EDT / 1–2 p.m. PDT

FaithMoynihan_r300

 

Faith Moynihan
Desmos Teaching Faculty


Embedding Problem Solving Into Your Curriculum

Time: 5:15–6:15 p.m. EDT / 2:15–3:15 p.m. PDT

FawnNguyen_r300

Fawn Nguyen

Teacher on special assignment
Rio School District, California

 


Practical Ideas To Bring Math History/Storytelling Inside Classrooms

Time: 6:30–7:30 p.m. EDT / 3:30–4:30 p.m. PDT

SunilSingh_r300 Sunil Singh
Author, storyteller, and Amplify consultant

 


Tuesday, September 22

We’ll continue the conversation on Tuesday, September 22, by focusing on equity and inclusion in the science classroom.


Implementing District-level Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Initiatives

Time: September 22, 4–5 p.m. EDT / 1–2 p.m. PDT

AllisonGrandberry_r300

Allison Grandberry
PreK–5 Science Specialist, STEM Department
Chicago Public Schools

PhilKim_r300

Phil Kim                      Senior Director of STEM Achievement
KIPP Public Schools

AngelinaWalker_r300

Angelina Walker Principal, John H. Amesse Elementary School
Denver Public Schools

 


Classroom Strategies for Addressing the Needs of All Learners

Time: 5:15–6:15 p.m. EDT / 2:15-3:15 p.m. PDT

KenieshaCharleston_r300 Keneisha Charleston
Elementary school teacher
Chicago Public Schools


Social and Emotional Learning in the Era of Remote Education

Time: 6:30–7:30 p.m. EDT / 3:30–4:30 p.m. PDT

 

ValeriaRodriguez_r300

Valeria Rodriguez
Middle school teacher
St. Stephen’s Day School

 



 

Register for math sessions

Register for science sessions